Good evening!

Well, hello again! Yes, I am alive, no, I did not fall off the face of the planet, and yes, I am still mentally sane! (I think…) Due to a hectic end of semester, I simply had to stay out of the blogging world.

I’m hoping to be able to become more disciplined over the break with writing before I vanish again, I shall warn you now… To help with my rustiness, this will be a simple, lighthearted post – nothing too weighty or thought out.

Random things that come to mind…

1) It’s Christmas Eve Eve! This is seriously my most favorite time of the year – I love holiday cheer, the smell of smoke and pine, the lights and decorations, the warm comfort of apple cider/hot chocolate, not to the mention all the tasty seasonal treats. I am a sucker for traditions and ceremony, and Christmas hasn’t lost that rustic, reverent charm to it, and it simply makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside…it’s one of the times in our ebb and flow of life where somehow, mystically the past many thousands of years all merge together in joy, when you can almost feel a connection to the people before us at this very point… Or possibly I have a very vibrant imagination 🙂 So much anticipation waiting for Messiah, the joy at His coming, and the remembrance of the promise kept, salvation attained, and the second coming to now anticipate…

2) I’ve lately become reacquainted with the doing the “nothing.” It has been a strange concept but joyfully embraced. Oh how my mind has needed it…. Another activity I have become reacquainted with is reading! Reading for FUN, that is. Nursing students read a lot. We read textbooks, assignments, powerpoints, care plans, charts… But reading for the purpose of sheer pleasure? A lost art… I have successfully made my way through the sixth book in the Sword of Truth series – Faith of the Fallen. Something I love about Terry Goodkind’s writings is how intellectually stimulating and educational he makes his fantasy novels.

3) Lately my favorite song has been “In Christ Alone” by Keith and Kristyn Getty… I’ve heard it the past couple years, and liked it, but for some reason, the more I hear it as time goes on, the more I love it. And this particular video is my absolute favorite recording – I guess I like the Irish flavor in it.

4) I think it’s safe to say that I have officially settled into Lubbock – yes, maybe it did take til the very end of semester, but at least it happened. I thought the most solid evidence was fumbling around with my keys at the front door of my parent’s house because I tried to open it with my apartment key for five minutes… As much as I’m dreading next semester, I am really looking forward to getting back to be with all my friends again – I really don’t think normal civilians understand what it involves being in nursing school. I think it’s fair to equate it to soldiers in the military…no one understands you like your fellow comrades.

5) I’m finding myself more and more intrigued by Europeans. The classy, sophistication of people from countries with thousands of years of history… I’ll still take my coffee over tea, thank you, but there is a charm and elegance to the European way of life that fascinates me… I don’t mean to sound hipster or hate on America, because those of you who know me know I am far from either camp, but I’m sure there is much to be learned from our distant cousins across the sea. And vice versa, of course. But really, who doesn’t love a good, British, Scottish, or Irish accent?

6) I have decided, officially, that if I am to align myself with a particular denomination, it would be Presbyterian. Scripture Alone, Grace Alone, Faith Alone, Christ Alone, To the Glory of God Alone. I love liturgical services and following the church calendar. I find incredible beauty in the structure, the constant ebb and flow of the seasons.

“…But in general, God doesn’t just turn up when you page Him. He is right where He always is, and what regular, daily-maybe-twice prayer gives us is some more hint of just where that is, and how to get there, and one of the things liturgy gives us is a way to get there when all our other ways have given out.”-Lauren Winner

7) I find Dove dark chocolate inspirational and tasty. Not to mention that appropriate amounts contain antioxidants and other goodness (such as caffeine). And who doesn’t love a warm, fuzzy feeling after reading the empowering messages on the wrappers! Who needs fortune cookies anymore…

 

Posted on December 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Merry Christmas sweet girl!! Enjoy the time off with your family. We love you!

Leave a Reply

