These are a few of my favorite things…

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

The Sound of Music has been one of my most favorite movies since I was as young as four years old…I believe it was one of the few movies I insisted my parents buy for me (I never asked to actually own many movies…Mulan and The Prince of Egypt were probably the only other ones I asked for). One of my earliest memories is running back and forth across our backyard in Kansas during a thunderstorm singing, “Doe, a deer, a female deer…ray, a drop of golden sun!” at the top of my lungs…

…back when life was simple, when watching Disney’s Robin Hood rescue Maid Miriam from the bad guys exhilarated me, when being able to spell my full name without accidentally writing the “r” backwards was an accomplishment to be proud of, when I would fearlessly dance around the room to my parent’s “Point of Grace” CD wearing my ballerina dresses…

Some things don’t change as we get older though…and watching The Sound of Music and listening to the soundtrack without it getting old is one of them. I think there’s a lot of wisdom in periodically thinking about some of our “favorite things.” Remembering the little blessings and joys that God sprinkles throughout our life and thanking Him for His loving generosity…

” Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

So in the spirit of remembrance, I present you a few of MY favorite things. In no particular order whatsoever…

Lovely scents that permeate a home…autumn spices, decorations, and colors…

My baby girl, Lucy…

Morning runs on the beach…time spent on the beachl..salt water and waves…blue-green ocean water…sand castles…

My BFF since junior year of high school. My inspiration and greatest supporter and encourager. Life just wouldn’t be the same without her.

Snowfalls…the beautiful scenery of snow covered branches…the cold winter wind…snow angels…the magic of the Christmas season…advent.

Having curly, crazy hair…

Stupid, random text arguments with my little brother, Logan.

Wide open spaces…hiking…the outdoors…exploration…adventure…possibility.

Thinking…reflection…philosophy…new ideas…challenging thoughts…intellectual discourse…

“A wonderful thing is a Tigger!” Getting to be called “Tigger” one week out of the year…

A good book…bookshelves full of theological books…a fantasy world in which to escape for a time…thought-provoking authors…inspiration…

Words of affirmation…loving sisters….a precious family…a warm, secure home to return to…

Sunsets…wistful dreaming…vibrant colors…watching clouds…taking walks…barren branches…

Working out…running…getting my heart rate up…endorphins…a natural high…

Getting to study sciences like anatomy and physiology as well as microbiology…understanding how the human body works…

Rainbows…little reminders of God’s promises and love for us…hope amid darkness…

Being a nursing student…getting to wear red scrubs…

Having art drawn for me…artistic friends…

Dallas, TX…diversity…cultures and variety…home.

Baking…cooking…hospitality…planning parties….

New friends…nursing friends…having a bunch of girlfriends for once…My boys…(some of them)…my Dallas childhood knights in shining armor who take care of me…from the bad guys and, most of all, from myself.

My oldest, childhood girlfriends…the ones who’ve been with me through thick and thin and could blackmail me if they wanted.

Diet Coke….caffeine…comforting beverages…

Sunlight…tanning and dark skin…warmth…sunshine streaming through the window while reading…sun rays causing the pool water to sparkle…afternoon dreaming as sunbeams waft the room…

It’s easy to forget such simple gifts…what are some of your favorite things?

Posted on October 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 1) good movie choices! except you left out star wars…
    2) i love this: “who does not change like shifting shadows”…and we are but shadows
    3) what a beautiful picture of Destin! i miss it so much. *sob*
    4) please don’t make me miss winter more than i already do!!
    5) you should submit that possibility photo for the weekly photo challenge!
    6) i love all your tributes to your friends… it says a lot about you as a person that you have so many good friends…
    7) we need to tan more next summer! not like we’ll have time…

    i love this idea!

  2. Ooo, love this list. Have you heard of 1000 gifts by Ann Voskamp? It’s on my (too) long list of books to read in the next couple of years. It echoes Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life. The small things in life are truly gifts of God, even though they may not make a big impact in the world at large, or even your life at large. But without them, our lives aren’t as beautiful and full. God is good, isn’t He?! Love you, girlie 🙂

  3. Love the list! Thanks for sharing! ^_^

  1. Pingback: Blogging, Awards, and Embarrassing Facts-In Other Words, Mom, Skim this One « Antigone's Clamor

Leave a Reply

