(Un)conditional Love and Butterflies

Tonight was my first night to visit the college ministry group I am hoping to become involved in – The Navigators. We have a bit of a family history with Navs, and I’ve always wanted to be a part of a group if I had the chance….and my chance has come, through a close family friend, my wonderful father, and a staff who seems to really care… Navs has a very special place in my heart. It’s exciting to see how God places various people in various places at various times in a perfect way to work His will in our lives. I love our Sovereign God!

Right off the bat, I knew I was going to love it….meeting amazing people who seem to really care and love Jesus, and a fun “get-to-know-you” game… The first guy who stood up to give a testimony had a lot to say that hit close to home. He talked about how he realized over the summer through an internship with Navs that his love was often quite conditional. His frustrations with people around him he considered “lazy” or various things that would frustrate him…what these people did determined his love towards them. One of his mentors, after listening to him vent his frustrations, pointed out that if God loved us based on those terms, He would never want to be with us or talk with us. God doesn’t love us based on what we do, or don’t do, but because He chooses to. Definitely challenged me in how I handle my friendships and emotions.

Then we moved on to the actual message, which was based off of Proverbs 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” Our words either have the ability to bring life or death to a person. Like the butterfly effect in a way…(I really like butterflies, if you couldn’t tell) He went on to talk about various stories where God had prompted him to go talk to someone and how God worked incredible things through those seemingly “awkward” situations at the time. So the questions….what comes out of my mouth? and how does that affect others? how am I being faithful in God’s promptings in my own life? and am I even listening enough to hear these promptings? A lot of this involved stepping out of my comfort zone and following Jesus where He leads me. A recurring theme in my life…

I’m excited to get involved in this group and excited to see what God is going to do through them in my life and others. Our God is good!

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. God has been teaching me something similar all summer–at least in relation to the boys I nannied. In some ways, it’s easier to apply it to them when they would fight and rebel than it is to apply it to those other random people who just rub me the wrong way. Just today I was walking around campus mentally criticizing a few people….and my conscience started pricking me. It’s hard not to judge/look down on others!

Leave a Reply

